Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth – Every Difficulty Mode Explained

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth - Every Difficulty Mode explained
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth - Every Difficulty Mode explained

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth can be a pretty challenging game, even with default settings, due to which the game offers other modes such as Easy mode, specifically tailored for those who just want to sail through the story, or Hard mode, which can only be selected after finishing the game’s campaign.

But it’s not all familiar game modes, as the new title introduces a brand-new mode called Dynamic, which gives players a new way to experience the title. With a total of four modes, there’s something for everyone.

Read More About: What Is The Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Level Cap

What Difficulty Modes are in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth

Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Difficulty Settings
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Difficulty Settings

Just like we mentioned earlier, there are four difficulty modes in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth, which are as follows:


It’s very similar to the Easy mode seen in Final Fantasy 7 Remake, providing a very easy-to-play and comfortable experience for players who just want to breeze through the game. The only thing that’s changed this time around is that Easy mode is much more undemanding than the previous game.

For those who don’t know what the changes are in Easy mode, it’s just that enemies don’t deal as much damage, but players can damage them much more. Not only that, in Easy mode, opponents are slower and it’s simpler to dodge and parry them. 

If players want to enjoy the story of Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth and nothing else, then this mode is perfect for them.


Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Scenery
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Scenery

Normal mode is the default difficulty setting in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth. However, it’s important to note that the Normal mode for this is a bit harder than Final Fantasy 7 Remake’s Normal mode due to the more intricate combat mechanics in the new title.

Compared to Easy mode, enemies in this mode deal more damage more frequently thanks to the more complex battle mechanics players can use against them.

In addition, it’s harder to parry enemies in Normal mode, and more diverse enemy-pressuring requirements. 

This mode is perfect for most players, especially if it’s someone’s first time playing Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth. If players plan on going into this game right after Final Fantasy 7 Remake, it should be noted that it’s a bit harder in comparison.


Dynamic mode is a brand new mode made for Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth, and it simulates the balancing from older RPG games, where enemies’ strength scales alongside the player’s team.

Although enemies in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth don’t have levels, the Dynamic mode will change their stats depending on what the player has, so they’re always on a similar playing field throughout the entire game.

Fans of older RPG games, or those who don’t want to grind the game as much, can have a great time in the Dynamic mode.


Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Combat
Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth Combat

Hard mode isn’t selectable by default and can only be unlocked after completing the main story. It’s intended for people who feel that the previous modes weren’t enough for them and desire a challenge.

Hard mode has tougher enemies, trickier parry times, and more challenging recoveries. When we say more challenging recoveries, we mean items can’t be used, and rest spots only recover HP.

One important thing worth noting is that Hard mode is New Game+, as instead of starting all over again, players have a Chapter Select screen, and players can go back into any of their finished saves of any Main Chapter and replay it. By finishing every Main Chapter on Hard mode, players will unlock the Of Hardy Stock Trophy.

Hard mode is for Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth players who want a tough challenge and want to test their skills. It’s worth noting that players should only go for this if they’ve mastered the game.

Some Tips

Here are some small tips players should keep in mind if any mode is getting too difficult for them:

  • Upgrade Weapons: Using Weapon Upgrade slots is vital if players want to strengthen their team.
  • Materia: Always fill up Materia slots so players have multiple bonuses and strength enhancements.
  • Folios: It’s just a skill tree that players must take care of and upgrade whenever possible. 

And that’s all you need to know about Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth’s difficulty modes! If you’re having trouble increasing your SP, check out How To Get SP Fast In Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth.

Similar Posts